Who am I?

I wish I could say this has been a long time in coming, but it hasnt. I have never understood the world’s desire to let everyone know every second of the day exactly what and with whom they are doing things with, but a very recent event fell into my lap (more on that in a bit) and I have decided that to me this is blog worthy. So I guess here goes…

“Begin at the beginning and when you get to the end…. stop.”

Great advice but I’m not going to bore the living hell out of you with all sorts of mindless details that most of you already know. See I’m running on the assumption that the only folks who will actually read this will be my friends and all of you to some degree know the craziness that is my world.  But for the few of you that do not know me, for those that might have stumbled onto this and have read so far and actually will read on…. Thanks for stopping by, you’re super! 🙂

My name is Jay and im a 36 year old father of a disgustingly cute little monster.

Cute little demon-imp, isn't he? Told'ya so.

Husband to a very kick ass wife

She is my Dirty Girl!!!

And, well a bunch of other stuff too…more on that later

The primary reason im starting this blog is because for fun my friends and  I do mud runs…

Derek, Me, Matt, and Nicole...

Recently the most unexpected thing happened to me and well it is both as awesome and it is scary. My friends up there and I are part of the proud Spartan Nation. I am even a street team member which means I try to promote these races and get people off their butts. Please visit http://www.spartanrace.com/for more details and see the wonderous insanity that is mud runs at its best. They have various levels from the Sprint which is 3.5 miles, the Super at 8+ miles, and the Beast which is 10+ miles. These three, known collectively as the Spartan Trifecta were the goal that we set ourselves on. Then word came out of a mythical creature. A new and unheard of race, its name…..

A terrible beauty is born

Behold 26.2 (ish…, there is always an ish with these people i swear) hellish (see what i mean) miles or sheer insanity. The catch? You must apply for entry. They wanted folks to send a running resume and 3 sentences stating why you should be allowed to participate in the worlds first EVER marathon distance mud run. I figured I never win anything anyway and sent my application in on a lark. Im not a fast runner, it takes forever for me to do a 5K due the gigantic nature of my head (there you go Katie!) and the fact that I am almost 100% rice, beans and fast food, not to mention beer and booze. I am a guiltless foodie 🙂

So after a bit of a wait word came down the pipeline that this will be a very small heat and I got the e-mail telling me that they had accepted my application!!!!! “Oh  frabjous dayCallooh! Callay!” I screamed, or would have if I remembered my Jabberwocky, but it was pretty close. Then reality hit like a freight train. This is unlike anything I have ever done before, a distance I can barely comprehend not to mention the obstacles and the millions of burpees I most likely will have to do. It was then that I came to the realization, I need to man up and meet this challenge, to train like I never trained before so that I can pit myself against this Titan of a race and come out victorious. How this will change me, I don’t know. What will happen between now and the finish line, who can say. I am hoping though that this blog will keep me as honest as possible and allow me to share my family and my experiences in my quest to become a savage gentleman.

Categories: Uncategorized | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Who am I?

  1. To quote Bugs Bunny: “Muddah!” Love it. Do this more.

  2. I’m looking forward to seeing a picture of Tarzan in a tux!

  3. Jenni

    Awesome challenge!
    I love mudruns myself and have a half marathon trail race at Bear Mountain coming up as well. Best of luck to you!!!!
    (Friend of Katie’s! 😉 )

    • Thanks for visiting! I have a friend Colleen who is training for that one too! Good luck. Have you done a Spartan Race? Katie is doing the Tuxedo sprint, if you arent signed up and are interested i have a discount code for 15 bucks off.. Stay tuned for further posts ill be doing a lot of races this year and will need all the help i can get keeping my butt in gear. 🙂

      • Jenni

        COLLEEN TRONCONE?? IF SO, SHE’S DOING IT WITH ME! LOL I’M REGISTERED FOR THE SPARTAN SPRINT & WARRIOR DASH, WHICH I ALSO DID LAST YEAR, ALONG WITH RUNAMUCK AND DOWN & DIRTY. GOOD TIMES!

      • Oh this is too funny Jenni, yes she is not only a dear friend but she baby sits my little demon imp creature pictured in this post. So YOU talked her into the half marathon, great job im sure it will be an epic day for you both. In a future post ill list out all of the muddy goodness my wife and i are getting into this year. i think its like 8 or so. hopefully bump into you at one of the runs. 🙂

  4. Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog. If you hadn’t, I wouldn’t have known about yours. Good stuff and I look forward to reading more!

    • looks like we are on the same page bro. I cant wait to meet you in vermont! which other races are you doing?

      • Yeah. We have to meet up. Here is my schedule for the year…Take of the Bourbon Chase the week after the Beast. Since I’m now doing the Ultra, there is no way I could be ready for that a week later.

        http://onmywaytosparta.com/2012-racing-schedule/

      • Bourbon chase? why do i not know of this wonderous thing!? Im going to post my races for the season once i do more work on my blog. i just put up a new “rant” on civilizing the mind. i hope you like it. let me know what you think

  5. James

    Where did you purchase the sword for your wife ??Was the engraving expensive? …I have one more race left to get the trifecta .. the sword is awesome .

    • Sprry I fell off the radar James. To reply I got them at a website called strongblade.com. I’m really sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

