So whats with the name?

Im not sure how to write this post up without it sounding like a crazed rant. Most of you that honestly know me, know I get into these crazy tirades when I am passionate about something. I swear I try to keep a level head but sometimes I get overwhelmed and well, to say I can go on about a topic is like saying the Encyclopedia Britannica has a few words.

This is a 5 minute discourse on how I feel when guys wear their pants around their butt...

AAAANNNNYYYYWAY!!!

The idea of the Savage Gentleman, or as some of you may have heard me refer to it, Tarzan in a Tux, came to life where so many of life’s best ideas come from.

AHH beer, the cause of and solution to all of life's troubles...

You see, it came during a discussion I had with my best buddy Selim.

This is us in a deep discourse on the proper use of utensils in modern sports.

One rant that keeps coming back into the fray is the lack of something we find our selves. Selim and I suffer from a certain restlessness that I was to later discover a few others suffer from as well. A kind of missing piece if you will. We are certainly happy with our lives but something was off, something was missing that we couldn’t quite put our finger on. Then out of the blue it hit us we came to the realization that our lives were a shampoo commercial. Get up, go to work, come home wash, rinse repeat…. Over and over again until it was literally driving us to drink… Well not really driving us… actually we were drinking well before this so maybe…Dammit lost my scotch of thought! Train of thought! I meant train!!

It seemed to us that there was more to life than this cycle, or better stated, there should be more to life than this cycle. So we decided to create a kind of list of things that we wanted to do. Kind of like the movie The Bucket List, where Selim is the Morgan Freeman (he is the levity) to my Jack Nicholson (cause like Jack I love calm, rational discussion.)

You almost done in the bathroom dear? I really need some aspirin...

It kind of all started as just hey I want to go skydiving, or ice climbing or read the 100 greatest books of all time. As we went down the list something else became very apparent. The list basically could be broken down into two columns. On one side were all of the physical craziness we want to do, like run a marathon, or run from the bulls in Pamplona, Spain. On the other side was a list of things more geared towards the mental side of us.

Kind of, but not quite so cute...

We want to be more fulfilled in our respective careers, feel a better sense of worth, of accomplishment. Maybe start a business of our own or create a blog that someone reads and can take something away from. During a lull in our conversation I was looking around the room and I saw something that bothered me for one reason or another. I saw guys hanging around the bar (I hear this is a common thing) and it seemed to me they all fell into certain classes themselves. I saw overly simple meatheads wearing their team colors, drinking themselves into stupor and getting rowdy if someone got close with opposing team colors. I saw pretty boys who looked like they couldn’t imagine a world in which they don’t spend an hour getting ready to look like they spent no time in getting ready. Overly effeminate hipsters who were painfully skinny with huge bushy beards. The thing that bothered me was how one-dimensional all of them seemed. How it was either faux rebellion, faux manliness or just superficial surface preparation. I don’t mean to generalize here but it seemed that there should have been more to them, but their eyes manners and attitude was as flat as their personas. I couldn’t imagine the meatheads at an opera enjoying Faust, and neither could I imagine the hipster or the pretty boys out in the woods with me hunting in the fall, or prepping food for themselves and loves ones, or working on an engine or building a deck, etc etc…

I asked Selim what ever happened to men? Like the Paula Cole song, where have all the cowboys gone? The sacrificing, hard-working, callous having, stand up for whats right men? The ones who were as chivalrous as well as they were dangerous?  And it hit me, I wanted to combine the two parts of my psyche, to become a savage gentleman, Tarzan in a Tux. Think…..

This..

Plus….

This...

Somehow has to equal

A deep discourse on male nipples... Dont ask.

And thus the idea of the Savage Gentleman was born. In a beer soaked haze Selim and I created what I see as my new life goal. I want to try to make myself over as a much more well-rounded open-minded individual, to civilize my mind and make savage my body. To try to literally become Tarzan in a Tuxedo. How am I going to accomplish this? Well as a start I have been reading a ton of blogs from OTHER guys who are looking to connect with something greater than themselves. I began looking for ways to improve my mind and body to become the best me I can be. Hitting the gym, reading everything I can get my hands on, even changing the way I dress and hold myself whether in a group or on my own.

So there it is.. the name is  a literal translation of the metamorphosis I am trying to undertake. Im hoping it goes well so I can be the best example I can be for my little man, and the best and loving husband for a phenomenal woman.

This ending is a bit too sappy for my taste so I will end it with the most evil thing my child has ever made me suffer through….

BEHOLD THE EVIL THAT IS WONDER PETS!!! NONE OF YOU ARE SAFE!

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “So whats with the name?

  1. those were fantastic times – I am glad we have found ways to maintain a strong drinking tradition and add some meaningful gravitas to it. I was thinking – another literature role model you might consider is John Carter – also created by Burroughs – I think he would definitely fall into the savage gentlemen archetype.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Carter_of_Mars

  2. I love this. It is the logical next step in your journey….and the WonderPets picture was spot on perfect. P.S. Christopher Lambert as Tarzan was my 80’s crush.

    • WM- Intense wasnt he? Thanks for the positive words. Next one will be on training which i am trying really hard to get a handle on.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

